In the Shadow of The Shiloh

(to Tony D.)

 

I sailed on The Shiloh

To the Persian Gulf.

Now, in the shadow of The Shilo,

I see myself;

A retrospective view

Of where I stood on watch,

Leaning into the surf

Watching a distant horizon

Bringing me back

To where I stand today;

On a different watch

My future self,

Arising like a golden dawn,

Shedding the past

In the shadow of The Shiloh

 

Ted Goodell

1994

 

Ted welcomes and appreciates your comments. Go ahead, leave one. Thank you!

